About the Coalition

The Coalition for Expanding School-Based Mental Health engages in many activities to fund, advocate, and advance expanded school mental health programs in schools around the state.  These activities include advocating for legislative change and drafting bills to fund ESMH programs, launching an informative website, and planning an annual summit that involves and informs a statewide network of more than 850 providers, school mental health staff, legislators, parents, and others who care about the well-being and success of each child.  You can make a difference by joining one of three Coalition committees that need your involvement and skills!

We need you!   Want to dig deeper and help the Coalition in a more meaningful way? Join a Committee! 

View Calendar

Coalition for Expanding School-Based Mental Health in Wisconsin Committees

School Mental Health Navigators Community of Practice

Formed in 2020, the SMH Navigator Community of Practice gathers monthly online for an opportunity for navigators to connect on best practices, challenges, and share resources. Whether you are called a navigator or have taken on the tasks without the title, we want to learn from you!

Am I a school mental health navigator?
You may have this role in your school community without carrying the title, but essentially school mental health navigators help students and families connect to resources and facilitate communication between teachers, staff, families and providers. They know the local community resources and many may have lived experience that helps them quickly engage with families and align as a supportive resource. In some schools this position assists with scheduling appointments, connecting with families in their home and more.

Legislative Committee

The Legislative Committee works to create and adapt policy, engage in legislative activities to fund expanded school mental health programs, and advocates on behalf of the coalition.

Innovative Practice & Comprehensive Model Committee

The Innovative Practice & Comprehensive Model Committee recommends presenters for both the annual summit and for non-coalition events & conferences.  The committee responds to inquiries, disseminates current best practices, and communicates the school-based mental health model and best practices at engagements.

Summit Planning Committee

The Summit Planning Committee works to identify speakers, topics and resources for the Summit. Help guide the experience for participants!

Board Members

Executive Committee

Chris Crowe  (Chair)  Director & Principal, North Star Academy

Daniel Baran  (Vice-Chairperson)   Board Secretary & Treasurer, Professional Services Group, Inc

Kathy Markeland (Treasurer), Executive Director, WI Association of Family & Children’s Agencies

Jessica Bigboy  (Secretary)  Parent Peer Specialist Wisconsin Family Ties


Greta Blancarte   Wellness Coordinator, Ashland School District

Tina Buhrow   Co-Chair Children’s Mental Health Collective Impact Executive Council, Wisconsin Office of Children’s Mental Health

Sara Daniel, Vice President of Educational Services, SaintA

Phyllis Greenberger Lead Advocacy Specialist, Disability Rights Wisconsin

Linda A. Hall, Director, Wisconsin Office of Children’s Mental Health

Molly Herrmann, Project AWARE, Department of Public Instruction

Armando Hernandez, Assistant Director of Integrated Health, Madison Metropolitan School District

Julie Hueller, Manager, Racine Collaborative for Children’s Mental Health, Racine Unified School District

Tracey Kelz, Director of Student Services, Marshfield Unified School District

Jenny Miller, Manager of School-Based Mental Health Services, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin-Community Services

Andrea Mitchell, Wellness Program Supervisor, Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin & Upper Michigan

Kristi Nelson,  Director of Day Treatment and Clinical Services,  Northwest Counseling & Guidance Clinic

Audrey Potter, Community Coordinator, School Community Partnership for Mental Health, Milwaukee